When was the root beer float invented?

You can thank Frank. J. Wisner, owner of Colorado's Cripple Creek Brewing, who created the first root beer float on Aug. 19, 1893. The once-in-a-lifetime idea was born when Wisner noticed that the snowy peaks on Colorado's Cow Mountain looked like ice cream floating in soda