When was the root beer float invented?

You can thank Frank. J. Wisner, owner of Colorado's Cripple Creek Brewing, who created the first root beer float on Aug. 19, 1893. The once-in-a-lifetime idea was born when Wisner noticed that the snowy peaks on Colorado's Cow Mountain looked like ice cream floating in soda

---

Frank J. Wisner, owner of Colorado’s Cripple Creek Brewing, is credited for the first root beer float in 1893. There are three other claimants for the root beer float. Fred Sanders, Philip Mohr and George Guy, Guy is said to have mistakenly mixed ice cream and soda in 1872,to his customer's delight.