Where did the term cold turkey come from?

The phrase, cold turkey, comes from the similarities between a drug addict in the throes of withdrawal and a turkey’s carcass. Both can be clammy, pale and covered in goosebumps, which might have led someone to point out that a user who suddenly quit looked like a cold turkey.