Does growlithe evolve?

Growlithe can evolve into Arcanine, but it involves using an item instead of gaining experience in battle. Instead of evolving into a new form through merely leveling up, Growlithe turns into Arcanine after being exposed to a Fire Stone that the trainer has in their bag.