Is cornmeal and cornstarch the same thing?

No, cornmeal and cornstarch are not the same thing. They are made from different parts of the corn kernels and used differently. Cornmeal is dried and ground entire kernels, while cornstarch contains only the endosperm, separated from the rest of the kernel and ground into a fine powder.