What is the difference between bread flour and white flour?

According to Bon Appetit, the main difference between bread flour and all-purpose flour is protein. Bread flour has a higher protein content than all-purpose, usually 11-13%. Higher amounts of protein are needed to produce the correct light and airy texture in your bread.