How does a paternity test work?

The DNA test is done by collecting buccal (cheek) cells from the inside of a person's cheek with a swab....or a pinprick of blood. Samples from father and child would be needed. Half the DNA fragments that make up a child's STR profiles come from the mother and half from the natural father.