Is tasmania it's own country?

No. It is a territory, part of the country of Australia. Is an island South of Australia

---

Tasmania is an island state of the country of Australia. The island of Tasmania is located some 150 miles to the south of mainland Australia with the Bass Strait acting as the divider between the two. Tasmania is not a country.