Is cooking oil in vegetable oil the same thing?

There are a wide variety of cooking oils from plant (vegetable) sources such as olive oil, palm oil, soybean oil, canola oil, corn oil, peanut oil. However a cooking oil could also be, animal-based oils like butter and lard.