What is auxiliary mode?

Auxiliary mode is a term frequently used in connection to sound systems. It refers to the mode of output—the sounds you hear—that come from a source outside the audio system via an auxiliary cable, often a 3.5mm plug cable, such as the kind on many pairs of wired headphones.