What is the terminal equinox?

An equinox is the day of the year when the direct path of the sun crosses the equator. Equinoxes are opposite on either side of the equator, so the autumnal (fall) equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is the spring (vernal) equinox in the Southern Hemisphere and vice versa.