Does baking soda or baking powder make things rise?

The rising ingredient in both is sodium bicarbonate, which creates bubbles of carbon dioxide when activated. Baking soda is pure sodium bicarbonate. Baking powder is sodium bicarbonate with cream of tartar and starch added to control the timing and stability of the release of carbon dioxide bubbles.