What day did world war one happen?

July 28,1914

---

World War One began with the assassination of Austria-Hungarian Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie Chotek on June 28th 1914 by Bosnian Serb nationalist Gavrilo Princip. On July 28th 1914 Austria-Hungary declared war on Serbia whom they suspect were responsible for the assassination.