Where do where does milk come from?

Milk is produced by mammals, during pregnancy and for some time after giving birth, in order to feed their young. In the case of domesticated dairy animals (such as cows) this milk is extracted either by hand or a milking machine. It was likely first consumed in central Europe, some 7,500 years ago.