What is code one eighty seven?

"The number 1 87 is used as a synonym for the word "Murder." It refers to Section 187 of the California Penal Code, which defines the crime of murder. Because of this connection to homicide, 1 87 features prominently in gang culture, music, and even mainstream movies." Info from CyberDefinitions.com