Was mrs. maisel a real person?

In March 2017, when The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel premiered, Sherman-Palladino sat down with Vanity Fair to discuss where she got the inspiration for the show. In the interview, Sherman-Palladino revealed that Midge herself is based on none other than Joan Rivers.