Why do they call horseradish horseradish?

In German, the word for horseradish is “meerrettich." Many believe the English mispronounced the German word “meer” and began calling it “mare radish.” Since "mare" is the word for a female horse, eventually it became known as horseradish.

---

The name horseradish is believed to come from a variation of the German name for it, which is “meerrettich” meaning sea radish. The English were said to mispronounce the German word “meer” and began calling it “mareradish.” Eventually it was called horseradish.