Are shishito peppers spicy?

Shishito peppers are a mildly spicy pepper, about 100 times more mild than a Jalapeño pepper. About one of every 10 Shishito peppers will be a little more spicy.

---

The shishito pepper is considered a sweet pepper and isn't considered spicy. It has a heat rating of 50–200 Scoville Heat Units, which is very low on the scale, especially when compared to a Pepperoncini, which is 1000 SHU, or a jalapeño, which can range between 2,500-8,000 SHU.