What would happen if the sun blew up?

It will get dark and cold. The Sun will die in a fiery, catastrophic explosion, one which will quite possibly obliterate our entire planet, and then eventually cease to shine at all. As the Sun becomes a true red giant, the Earth itself may be swallowed or engulfed, but will definitely be roasted.

---

Once the Sun has consumed all the hydrogen fuel in its core, it will reach the end of its life. For a few million years, it will expand into a red giant, puffing away its outer layers. Then it'll collapse down into a white dwarf, and slowly cool down to the background temperature of the Universe.