What would happen if the sun blew up?

It will get dark and cold. The Sun will die in a fiery, catastrophic explosion, one which will quite possibly obliterate our entire planet, and then eventually cease to shine at all. As the Sun becomes a true red giant, the Earth itself may be swallowed or engulfed, but will definitely be roasted.