What is the dog years compared to human years?

A dog's 'year' is supposed to be equivalent to 7 human years, so a 1 year old dog is assumed to be equivalent to a 7 year old child. Some recent studies say this isn't true, that dogs mature much faster than that and that a 1 year old dog is more like a 30 year old person.