What's the definition of kosher?

Kosher meat comes from animals that have split hooves like, cows, sheep, and goats and chew their cud. When these types of animals eat, partially digested food (cud) returns from the stomach for them to chew again. Pigs, for example, have split hooves, but they don't chew their cud, so not Kosher.