Who is jerry lumpy?

Jerry Lumpe, who played the infield for the Yankees in two World Series in the 1950s and was later an All-Star second baseman with the Detroit Tigers, died August 15, 2014, in Springfield, Mo. He was 81. His wife, Vivian Lumpe, said the cause was cancer.