What makes you yawn?

Yawning is mostly an involuntary process. It's usually a response to fatigue or lack of stimulation, but has also been found to be contagious and can occur when you talk about yawning or see or hear someone else yawn.

---

Yawning is a mostly involuntary process of opening the mouth and breathing in deeply, filling the lungs with air. It's a very natural response to being tired. In fact, yawning is usually triggered by sleepiness or fatigue. Yawns may also occur when you talk about yawning or see or hear someone yawn.