What is a buffalo wolf?

The Great Plains wolf, also known as the buffalo wolf or loafer, is a subspecies of gray wolf that once extended from the Great Plains, from Manitoba + Saskatchewan southward to northern Texas. The subspecies was thought to be extinct. It’s descendants were found in MN. , WI. and MI.