How loud is eighty five decibels?

85 dB is loud enough to be uncomfortable, and possibly cause ear damage if sustained over a long period (6-8 hours). In relative sound levels, it is somewhere between the sound of the average gasoline lawnmower, and a Boeing 7 37 comming in for a landing (heard from one mile away).