What country did hockey come from?

Ice hockey is believed to have evolved from simple stick and ball games played in the 18th and 19th centuries in the United Kingdom and elsewhere, so the game itself has no specific known origin. However, the modern sport of ice hockey, as we know it today, was developed in Canada.