Who was the first d. c. character?

It was Doctor Occult. He appeared in 1936 in New Fun Comics #6, which was a comic published by DC. Interestingly Zatara and Superman both had their appearance in Action Comics #1. Though the archetype of "superhero" is commonly thought to have been launched with the introduction of superman.