How strong is steel?

Pure steel is converted from pure iron by removing excess carbon. That steel is several times stronger than the iron it is made from. Alloys are added to molten steel to increase qualities such as strength, flexibility, resistant to rust. Alloy steel could be a hundred times stronger than iron.