How do you enchant a shield in minecraft?

To enchant a shield, place an anvil & use the anvil. Next, place the shield in the first slot of the menu and an enchanted book in the second slot, for example: Unbreaking III book. In the third slot, you will see the enchanted shield. It will cost 3 experience levels to enchant the shield.