What is rubber?

Natural rubber is made from the latex sap of the rubber tree that grows in Central and South America. In natural form it is springy but sticky. The sap can be molded or formed. The sap is heated, called Vulcanization, causing the resulting rubber to stay in the molded form. It is no longer sticky.