Who invented the mini skirt?

Several designers have been credited with this invention of this design, most significantly the London-based designer Mary Quant and the Parisian André Courrèges. Although Quant reportedly named the skirt after her favorite make of car, the Mini, there is no consensus as to who designed it first.