What is soy lecithin?

Lecithin is a food additive that comes from several sources — one of them being soy. It's generally used as an emulsifier, or lubricant, when added to food, but also has uses as an antioxidant and flavor protector. Like many food additives, soy lecithin isn't without controversy.