What's the difference between pepper spray and mace?

The Basics - Mace and pepper spray are two different self defense products: Traditional chemical mace (CN) is classified as an irritant and is similar to tear gas. Pepper spray is classified as an inflammatory agent and will immediately incapacitate an assailant.