Is white wine vinegar and white vinegar the same thing?

No. White vinegar, also known as spirit vinegar, has 5-20% acetic acid. White wine vinegar is made by allowing white wine to turn to vinegar.

---

No. One of the differences between the two types of vinegar is that white vinegar is made from distilled grain such as corn and water, whereas white wine vinegar is made from white wine such as pinot gris and champagne