How do giant squid sleep?

It is difficult to tell when a squid is sleeping because a squid is able to swim by sucking water into the mantle cavity. Then they remove it through the siphon. This process continues all day long, even when they are sleeping. Giant squid are particularly difficult to study as they are rare.