How long does it take for a papaya to ripen?

The time it takes for a papaya to ripen can vary depending on several factors, such as the maturity of the fruit when it was picked, the temperature and humidity conditions, and the variety of papaya. However, on average, it takes about 3 to 5 days for a papaya to ripen at room temperature.