What is the summary of the outsiders?

The 1967 novel, The Outsiders, by S. E. Hinton, details the conflict between two rival teen-age gangs divided by their socioeconomic status. The working-class "greasers" were pitted against the upper-class "Socs." A hit movie version was released in 1983.