What is the highest civilian award?

The Medal of Freedom & the Congressional Gold Medal are the highest civilian awards of the USA. The presidential medal recognizes people who have made a meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the USA, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.