What's the difference between b. c. e. n. c. e.?

"BCE" means "before common era," and refers to times before Christ; this period used to be called "BC," which means "before Christ." "CE" means "common era," and refers to time after Christ's birth; this period used to be called "AD," which means Anno Domini, Latin for "year of our Lord."