What is a lot mean?

A lot can mean much or many. It can also refer to one piece of land, such as a 1 acre lot.

---

As a phrase, "a lot" means a large number or amount of something. If you meant the word "allot," spelled A-L-L-O-T, it means to distribute shares of something, usually a reward or labor.