How is cranberry sauce made?

As cranberries, sugar, and water boil, the cranberries pop and release all their pectin into the mixture. After the berries completely break down, they're mashed to ensure all their liquid and pectin come out. Finally, the sauce is strained to ensure a smooth consistency.