What does the initials s. o. s. mean?

SOS refers to the Morse code signal for distress. The code resembles the three letters, in that it's three dots, three dashes, and three dots, but there's no space between to separate the letters. (Interpretations such as "Save Our Ship" or "Save Our Souls" aren't the actual meaning.)