How is hair formed?

Hair. Made of a protein called keratin. A hair follicle anchors each hair into the skin. The hair bulb forms the base of the hair follicle. In the hair bulb, living cells divide and grow to build the hair shaft. Did you know that hair, fur, feathers and scales have the same embryonic development.