What year nickels are silver?

Most u s nickels minted in the years 1942 to 1945 contain 35% silver, in addition to 56% Copper and 9% Manganese. Silver nickels from those years can be identified by large Mint marks of “S”, “D” or “P” above the dome of Monticello on the back.