What's the difference between a kansas city strip and a new york strip?

KC Strip is essentially the same cut as a New York strip; it is still cut from the short loin of a cow, and it's a tender cut that has a bit of marbling throughout the meat. The main difference between these two types of steak is that a Kansas City strip has a bone along the side.