Who is the first african-american to sleep at the white house?

Invited by Richard Nixon Sammy Davis Jr. and his wife Altovise were the first African-American guests to sleep at the White House. The legendary entertainer forged a strong friendship with President Nixon, and in 1973, Davis stayed in the Lincoln bedroom as a guest of the president.