What is the average life span of a household cat?

Indoor cats have an average lifespan of 14-20 years, depending on breed, while outdoor cats live an average of 3-10 years - the extreme variance for outdoor cats comes as a result of increased risk factors like exposure to parasites, disease, fighting with other cats or animals, and traffic.