What's a long jacket?

A long jacket is a type of outerwear that extends below the waist or mid-thigh, depending on the specific style. It is typically made from heavier materials than shorter jackets, such as wool, leather, or synthetic fabrics, and is designed to provide warmth and protection from the elements.