Where does mushrooms come from?

Most mushrooms sold in supermarkets have been commercially grown on mushroom farms. The most popular of these, Agaricus bisporus, which has whites, crimini, and portobello, is considered safe for most people to eat because it is grown in controlled and sterilized environments.