What is a mnemonic?

A mnemonic is an idea, word pattern, acronym, or similar device used to remember something. For example, the colors of the rainbow -- red, orange, yellow, green, blue and violet -- are sometimes remembered by the mnemonic "Roy G. Biv", where each letter in the name corresponds to one rainbow color.