When did spongebob squarepants first start?

The first season of the American animated television series SpongeBob SquarePants, created by former marine biologist and animator Stephen Hillenburg, aired on Nickelodeon from May 1, 1999 to March 3, 2001, and consists of 20 episodes (41 segments).